Air Quality section:

Ambient Air quality:

The term “ambient air quality” means the state of the air around us. Good ambient air quality refers to unpolluted air and cleans. Clean air is fundamental to maintaining the fragile balance of life on our planet — not just for humans, but animal, plant, water and soil. Unhealthy ambient air quality is a result of a number of factors, including emissions from a variety of sources, both natural (e.g. volcano and earthquake) and anthropogenic “human-caused” (e.g. transportations, industries, power plants). Unhealthy ambient air quality occurs when pollutants reach high as much as necessary concentrations to endanger human health and/or the environment.

Air Pollutants:

The critical air pollutants, which have major impacts on human health and Environment, are five pollutants: ground-level ozone gas (O3), sulfur dioxide (SO2), nitrogen dioxide (NO2), Particulate matter (PM) and carbon monoxide (CO).

Monitoring ambient air quality:

Monitoring ambient air quality is a priority being established by the UAE with utmost importance considering the fact that this matter constitutes a major impact on human health and Environment in which they live. Hence, the National Centre of Meteorology and Seismology monitors air quality on a continuous basis via air quality monitoring network consist of numbers of stations to detect air pollutants level. To reflect the importance of different sources of emissions, these stations are located either in sufficiently distant urban area from industrial sites or in urban areas close to traffic and / or industrial areas. Therefore, the aim of this network is to assess the air quality in the Northern Emirates, and to identify the most polluted areas and develop plans and use applicable pollution control mechanism needed to reduce the current and future pollution levels.

First: Ambient Air Quality monitoring Network

The National Centre of Meteorology and Seismology manages an automated ambient air quality network specialized in monitoring air pollutants in the Northern Emirates (Ras Al Khaimah, Ajman and Sharjah) operating continually. This network consists of 8 stations containing instrumentation being classified with high credibility and precision. The electrical output of the instrument is not only recorded at measuring station but also transmitted on daily basis to the central computer located at the National Centre for Meteorology and Seismology where the data are accordingly recorded and stored in a computer for subsequent evaluation and issuing periodic reports later.

Second: Dustfall monitoring stations:

The National Centre of Meteorology and Seismology collect and measure the level of of dustfall (Settleable Particulate Matter) on several areas across the Northern Emirates, 33 devices are installed to collect samples of dustfall in accordance to the prevailing wind direction blowing towards residential areas from the quarries and cement factories that probably are the most source of dust. For comparison purposes, numbers of these devices are distributed away from the influence of the quarries and cement factories.

To reach the best results an internationally endorsed method (ASTM D-1739 ) have been performed in order to monitor the level of dustfall on the surrounding areas of quarries and cement plants to provide records that enable future actions to limit the dustfall in these areas as well as across the country in general.

قسم رصد جــودة الهواء:

جودة الهواء المحيط:

مصطلح "جودة الهواء المحيط" يعني بنوعية وحالة الهواء من حولنا. فنوعية الهواء الجيد تشير إلى الهواء غير الملوث والنقي . الهواء النقي ضروري للحفاظ على التوازن الدقيق للحياة على كوكبنا - وليس فقط بالنسبة للانسان، ولكن يشمل أيضا للحيوان والنبات والماء والتربة. أما نوعية الهواء غير الصحية هو نتيجة لعدد من العوامل، بما في ذلك الانبعاثات من المصادر المختلفة ، سواء كانت طبيعية (البراكين والزلازل) أوالتي يتسبب فيها الإنسان (وسائل النقل، المصانع، محطات توليد الكهرباء). وتسوء نوعية الهواء عندما تصل الملوثات إلى تراكيز عالية بما يكفي لتشكل خطرا على صحة الإنسان و / أو البيئة.

ملوثات الهواء المحيط:

إن من أهم ملوثات الهواء والتي لها أثار صحية وبيئية هي خمس ملوثات: غاز الأوزون الأرضي (O3) ، وثاني أكسيد الكبريت (SO2) ، وثاني أكسيد النيتروجين (NO2) ، ودقائق الغبار (PM)،  و أول أكسيد الكربون (CO).

رصد جــودة الهواء المحيط:

تعـتبر مراقـبة جودة الهـواء المحيط من الأولويات التي منحتها الدولة أهـمية قصوى، وذلك لما يشكله هذا الموضـوع من أثر بالغ على صحـة الإنسان وبيئتـه التي يعيش فيها، لذا يقوم المركز الوطني للأرصاد الجوية والزلازل بمراقبة جودة الهواء بصفة مستمرة عن طريق شبكة مراقبة جودة الهواء مكونة من عدد من محطات لرصد مستوى ملوثات الهواء. تم تشييدها إما في المناطق الحضرية البعيدة بشكل كاف عن المواقع الصناعية أو في المناطق الحضرية القريبة من حركة المرور أو بالمناطق الصناعية. وعليه فإن الهدف من هذه الشبكة دراسة وتقييم جودة الهواء بالامارات الشمالية وتحديد المناطق الأكثر تلوثا ووضع الخطط والحلول اللازمة للحد من هذا التلوث واستخدام الطرق المختلفة لخفض معدلات التلوث مستقبليا.

أولاً: شبكة رصد جودة الهواء الالكترونية:

يقوم المركز الوطني للأرصاد الجوية والزلازل بإدارة شبكـة ألكترونية متخصصة برصد ملوثات الهـواء بالامارات الشمالية (إمارة رأس الخيمة وإمارة عجمان وإمارة الشارقـة)، تتكون هـذه الشبكة من 8 محطات تحتوي على أجهـزة متطـورة تعتبر من أحدث ما توصل إليه العلم في مجال رصد تلوث الهواء وهي ذات مصـداقية ودقة عـاليتين، حيث تعمل هذه الشبكة على مدار الساعة لرصد ملوثات الهواء الأكثر تأثيراً على صحة الإنسان ويتم إرسال بياناتها ذاتياً بصفة يومية إلى الحاسوب المركزي الموجود بمكاتب المركز الوطني للأرصاد الجوية والزلازل حيث يقوم المختصون بمراجعتها والتدقيق عليها وتحليلها وإصدارالتقارير الدورية لاحقا.

ثانياً: محطات رصد الغبار المتساقط:

يقوم المركز الوطـني للأرصاد الجوية والزلازل بجمع وقياس مسـتوى الغـبار المتسـاقط بعدة مناطق في الامارات الشمالية، حيث تم تركيب 33 جهـازاً لجمع عينات الغبار المتساقط بشكل شهري اعتمـاداً على الاتجـاه السائد للرياح التي تهـب باتجاه المناطق السكـنية من الكسـارات ومصانع الأسمـنت التي تعتبر المصدر الأكـثر إحتمالاً للغـبار، ولغرض المقارنة تم توزيع عدد منها في عدة مناطق بعيدة عن تأثير الكسارات ومصانع الأسمنت.

للوصـول الى أفضل النتائج تم اتباع طرق معـتمدة دولياً ( ASTM D-1739 ) بهدف مراقبة مستوى الغبار المتساقط على المناطق المحيطة بالكسارات ومصانع الأسمـنت، وتوفير قاعدة بيانات مستقبلية سليمـة تتيح إتخاذ القرارات التي تحد من الغبار المتساقط بتلك المناطق والغبار على الدولة بشكل عام. حيث تتبع الطرق المعتمـدة رقم: وهي من الطرق القياسية العالمية لجمع ووزن عينات الغبار المتساقط .