Air Quality Index

What is Air Quality Index AQI?

The AQI is an index for reporting daily air quality. This index has been developed by US Environment Protection Agency (US EPA), it conceders five pollutants ground-level ozone (O3), particulates (PM), sulfur dioxide (SO2), carbon monoxide (CO) and nitrogen dioxide (NO2).

The AQI tells community members what local air quality means to their health, how clean or polluted an ambient air is, and what associated health effects might be a concern for them.

The AQI focuses on health effects community members may experience within a few hours or days after breathing polluted air. It is classified into six categories ranging from zero to 500 where least number is the best and the highest is worst on health of humans. Each category corresponds to a different level of health concern as shown below:

  • "Good" AQI is 0 - 50. Air quality is considered satisfactory, and air pollution poses little or no risk.

  • "Moderate" AQI is 51 - 100. Air quality is acceptable; however, for some pollutants there may be a moderate health concern for a very small number of people. For example, people who are unusually sensitive to ozone may experience respiratory symptoms.

  • "Unhealthy for Sensitive Groups" AQI is 101 - 150. Although general public is not likely to be affected at this AQI range, people with lung disease, older adults and children are at a greater risk from exposure to ozone, whereas persons with heart and lung disease, older adults and children are at greater risk from the presence of particles in the air.

  • "Unhealthy" AQI is 151 - 200. Everyone may begin to experience some adverse health effects, and members of the sensitive groups may experience more serious effects. .

  • "Very Unhealthy" AQI is 201 - 300. This would trigger a health alert signifying that everyone may experience more serious health effects.

  • "Hazardous" AQI greater than 300. This would trigger a health warning of emergency conditions. The entire population is more likely to be affected.

How is Air Quality monitored?

There are 2 methods in monitoring air quality: includes both automated and manual monitoring stations, which are also known as continuous and non-continuous stations respectively.

Continuous monitoring stations are equipped with data analyzers that draw air in through various tubes for continuous analysis. These analyzers are attached to data acquisition systems, called data loggers. A central computer then draws information from (polls) the data loggers and incorporates these measurements into its databases.

Manual sampling is chosen in some cases because it is easier and less expensive than automatic sampling, while producing equally valuable results. In manual sampling, filters or canisters sampling are placed in the field by technicians for a discrete period of time (such as 2 weeks), and then sent to registered laboratories where they are weighed and/or analyzed to determine their content. The laboratory then uploads the data to a database.

What is the adopted method No.: ASTM D-1739?

It is a standard Test Method for Collection and Measurement of dustfall (Settleable Particulate Matter). It is applied to determine the fallout level on a specific area during a specified period which is manually done by collecting fallout samples and weight.

جودة الهواء

 مؤشر جودة الهواء:

هو مؤشر للإبلاغ عن جودة الهواء يوميا. وقد تم وضع هذا المؤشر من قبل وكالة حماية البيئة الأمريكية (US EPA)، يرتكز هذا المؤشرعلى تركيز ملوثات الهواء الخمس: الأوزون على مستوى الأرض (O3)، والجسيمات الدقيقة (PM)، وثاني أكسيد الكبريت (SO2)، وأول أكسيد الكربون (CO) وثاني أكسيد النيتروجين (NO2) .

يوضح هذا المؤشر لأفراد المجتمع ما تعنيه نوعية الهواء المحلي على صحتهم، من حيث مستوى درجة النقاوة أو مستوى درجة التلوث، وما هي الآثار الصحية المترتبة لكل مستوى.

يركز المؤشر على الآثار صحية التي قد يواجهها أفراد المجتمع في غضون بضع ساعات أو أيام بعد استنشاق الهواء الملوث. وهي مصنفة إلى ست مستويات تتراوح من صفر إلى 500 حيث أن أقل قيمة للمؤشر هو الأفضل ، وأعلى قيمة للمؤشر هو الأسوأ على صحة الإنسان، كما هو مبين أدناه:

  • "جيد" وفيه تكون قيمة المؤشرما بين 0 - 50. جودة الهواء مرضية، و المخاطر تكون ضئيلة أو معدومة.

  • "المعتدلة" وفيه تكون قيمة المؤشرما بين 51 - 100. جودة الهواء مقبولة؛ ومع ذلك، بالنسبة لبعض الملوثات قد تكون هناك مشكلة صحية لعدد قليل جدا من أفراد المجتمع. على سبيل المثال، الأشخاص الذين لديهم حساسية من تراكيز غاز الاوزون الارضي قد يواجهون مشاكل في الجهاز التنفسي .

  • "غير صحية للفئات الحساسة" وفيه تكون قيمة المؤشرما بين 101 - 150. على الرغم من أن عامة أفراد المجتمع ليس من المرجح أن تتأثر في هذا النطاق ، إلا أن الأاشخاص المصابين بأمراض الرئة، وكبار السن والأطفال هم في خطر أكبر من التعرض لغاز الأوزون، في حين أن الأشخاص الذين يعانون من أمراض القلب و الرئة، وكبار السن والأطفال هم في خطر أكبر من وجود الجسيمات الدقيقة في الهواء.

  • "غير صحية" وفيه تكون قيمة المؤشرما بين 151 - 200. جميع أفراد المجتمع قد يواجهون آثار صحية ضارة، بالاضافة للأشخاص المصابين بالحساسة قد يواجهون آثار صحية أكثر خطورة.

  • "غير صحية جدا" وفيه تكون قيمة المؤشرما بين 201 - 300. هنا يجب التنبيه لجميع أفراد المجتمع بمواجهة آثار صحية أكثر خطورة.

  • "الخطرة" وفيه تكون قيمة المؤشرأكثر من 300. هنا يجب التحذير الصحي من الظروف الطارئة ومن المرجح أن يتأثر جميع أفراد المجتمع.

كيف يتم رصد نوعية الهواء:

هناك طريقتان لرصد نوعية الهواء: و تشمل كلا من محطات الرصد الآلي واليدوي، والتي تعرف أيضا بمحطات قياس مستمرة وغير مستمرة على التوالي.

محطات الرصد المستمر: تتكون من أجهزة تقوم بتحليل بيانات الهواء والذي يصلها من خلال أنابيب مختلفة ساحبة للهواء المحيط بشكل مستمر. وتنقل هذه البيانات إلى أنظمة تحليل البيانات، ومنها الى الحاسوب المركزي والذي يدرج هذه البيانات في قواعد البيانات.

أما الطريقة اليدوية فهي الأسهل والأقل تكلفة من أخذ العينات الآلي، ويعطي نتائج قيمة بالمثل.عند أخذ العينات يدويأ، توضع المرشحات أو أدوات أخذ العينات في الميدان من قبل الفنيين لفترة محددة من الوقت (مثل 2 أسابيع)، ومن ثم إرسالها إلى مختبرات معتمدة ليتم وزنها و / أو تحليل محتواها. ثم يقوم المختبر بتحميل البيانات إلى قاعدة البيانات المركزية.

 ما المقصود ب ASTM D-1739؟

هي طريقة اختبار قياسية لجمع وقياس كمية الغبار المتساقط،و يتم تطبيقها عن طريق جمع عينات الغبار ووزنها يدويا لتحديد مستوى الغبارعلى منطقة معينة خلال فترة زمنية محددة .